The Online Library of Knowledge



A map of MalaysiaA map of MalaysiaMalaysia is in two parts. West Malaysia (Peninsula Malaysia) shares the long, narrow Malay Peninsula with Thailand and Burma. East Malaysia lies over 600 kilometres (400 miles) across the South China Sea, occupying part of the island of Borneo, which it shares with Indonesia and Brunei. Lying nearly on the equator, Malaysia has a hot, tropical climate, with extremely humid weather all year round.

A map of MalaysiaA map of Malaysia

A Malaysian woman playing the kulintanganA Malaysian woman playing the kulintangan


The majority of Malaysians live in towns and cities to the west of Peninsular Malaysia's central uplands. Many of them are drawn to Kuala Lumpur (KL) by the manufacturing industries centred around Malaysia's capital. Peninsular Malaysia is more developed than East Malaysia, where a greater number of people live in the countryside and work as farmers.

Nine sultans, each ruling one of Malaysia’s traditional states, take it in turns to be Malaysia’s king, changing over every five years. The king’s role is largely just ceremonial.

© 2020 Q-files Ltd. All rights reserved. Switch to Mobile