The Online Library of Knowledge



A map of LuxembourgA map of Luxembourg Luxembourg lies sandwiched between Belgium, France and Germany. Northern Luxembourg, a hilly, forested region, is part of the Ardennes plateau which extends into Belgium and northern France. The southern part, where most Luxembourgers live, is flatter. Here, small farms are planted with cereal crops and potatoes, while wine grapes thrive in the Moselle Valley to the east. The climate is mild and rainy; summers are warm and wet, while winters are cool. Luxembourg is scattered with walled towns and castles, reminders of its history at the crossroads of major empires. Luxembourg's official name is the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. It has a monarch—the Grand Duke—and is a parliamentary democracy. It was a founding member of the European Union and the United Nations.

A map of LuxembourgA map of Luxembourg
Vianden Castle, built 11th–14th centuriesVianden Castle, built 11th–14th centuries


Luxembourgers speak the country’s original language, Letzeburgisch (or Luxembourgish) as well as German and French. French is the official language of the government. The dominant religion is Roman Catholicism. Immigrants from other European countries make up over a third of Luxembourg’s population. The country is home to around 88,000 Portuguese people, as well as Bosnians, Montenegrins and Serbs who arrived fleeing the Yugoslav Wars in the 1990s.

In Luxembourg, schoolchildren are taught in all three of the country’s official languages. The first years of primary school are taught in Letzeburgesch and the later years in German, while lessons at secondary school are in French.

© 2020 Q-files Ltd. All rights reserved. Switch to Mobile