The Online Library of Knowledge

States of the US

States of the US

Texas State Capitol, Austin, TexasTexas State Capitol, Austin, TexasThe United States of America is made up of 50 states, including the Pacific islands of Hawaii, and Alaska, the largest state, which borders northwestern Canada. Since the USA was established in 1776, the number of states has expanded from the original 13 to the present 50. Hawaii, which joined in 1959, is the most recent. Each has a state capital and a government, responsible for such matters as law enforcement, education, health and transport. 

ALABAMA Area 135,775 sq km  Population 4,874,747  Capital Montgomery  Largest city Birmingham

ALASKA Area 1,700,139 sq km  Population 739,795  Capital Juneau  Largest city Anchorage

ARIZONA Area 295,267 sq km  Population 7,016,270  Capital and largest city Phoenix

Phoenix, Arizona is the largest state capital in the USA. Austin, Texas, is the second largest.

© 2020 Q-files Ltd. All rights reserved. Switch to Mobile