The Online Library of Knowledge



A chuckwalla, an iguana found in desertsA chuckwalla, an iguana found in deserts Iguanas are plant-eating lizards from subtropical and tropical regions of the Americas and Pacific islands. The green iguana lives in rainforest trees while the marine iguana is the only sea-dwelling species of lizard. Other iguanas include anoles, basilisks, chuckwallas and horned lizards. Some species have prehensile tails, which they can wrap around branches as they climb. Iguanas have large dewlaps, flaps of skin beneath their jaws. These help control their body temperature, and is also displayed by males in courtship.

Green iguana

Green iguanaGreen iguanaThe green iguana, from the South American rainforest, is a 2-metre (6.6-foot) tree-dwelling lizard. It has a crest of comb-like spikes running down its back. Equipped with excellent vision, it is able to spot both predators and sources of food from long distance. The green iguana often lounges in branches overhanging rivers. If danger threatens, it will simply drop out of the trees into the water below to escape.


Marine iguanaMarine iguana

Marine iguana

An iguana has a third "eye" on the top of its head. Called a parietal eye, this small, paler area of skin can detect light.

© 2020 Q-files Ltd. All rights reserved. Switch to Mobile