The Online Library of Knowledge

Ancient Greece

Seven Wonders of the World

An old picture of the Colossus of RhodesAn old picture of the Colossus of Rhodes By the fourth century BC, the Greek World had expanded due to Alexander the Great’s conquests. Greek scholars took the opportunity to explore the new world. As they travelled around the Mediterranean through Egyptian, Babylonian and Persian lands, they wrote about the incredible sights they had come across. From these accounts, a list of seven emerged as the top “must-see” sights of the Ancient World, known as the Seven Wonders. Some places were included because of their beauty; others for the skill shown in their construction—or simply for their sheer size.

Great Pyramid of Giza

Great Pyramid of GizaGreat Pyramid of GizaSoon after the Egyptian Pharaoh Khufu ascended to the throne in 2551 BC, work began on the pyramid that would house his burial chamber. At 147 metres (482 feet) tall, it became known as the Great Pyramid. A long passageway inside leads to the King’s Chamber and the pharaoh’s sarcophagus. Alongside pyramids built for Khufu’s son and grandson, the Great Pyramid stood on a desert plateau overlooking the Nile Valley below. It is the only Wonder of the Ancient World that has survived intact to the present day.

The list contains seven wonders because the number seven represented perfection in Ancient Greece.

© 2020 Q-files Ltd. All rights reserved. Switch to Mobile