The Online Library of Knowledge


You are here: Life > Birds > Eagles


Martial eagleMartial eagle Eagles are large birds of prey. There are 33 species of eagle, living in mountains, tundra, woodlands, forests or on coasts. They build their nests, called eyries, in trees or up cliffs, returning to the same nest each year. Most eagles feed on mammals or other birds, except for the fish-eating sea eagles, which eat fish, and the snake eagles which feed on reptiles. They usually grab their prey without landing, then, if its not too heavy, carry it to a perch where they tear it apart. All eagles have excellent eyesight and can spot their prey from a great distance.

Golden eagleGolden eagle
Golden eagleGolden eagle

Golden eagle

The most widespread of all eagles, the golden eagle lives in mountains and wildernesses all over the northern hemisphere. It has dark brown plumage and strong wings that allow it to fly even in high winds. Like all eagles, it can spot its prey—small mammals such as rabbits, hares, marmots and squirrels—from a great distance. 

The bald eagle is the symbol of the USA.

© 2020 Q-files Ltd. All rights reserved. Switch to Mobile